Need help buying wine online

Forum Value Shopping & Bargains Need help buying wine online

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

RollingStone

After a couple of bad experiences buying wine in-person, I’d like to try buying wine online instead. I’ve never done this before, but I intend to do this from now on, so it could be a long-term thing.

I am not sure what to look for or who to buy it from. What I’m not clear about is the shipping. How does it work, when does it arrive, and will it arrive safely? Anybody here have any advice to share?

ForeverYoung

Make sure that you will be at home to receive it. If not, try to make sure someone is at home to sign for it. I believe couriers will not give it to a neighbour.

This means it must be signed by someone at your address. You may have to look into this more if you have a problem with this.

Cello

Before you whip out your credit card, research the sites first. Make sure it is a legitimate and reputable site. Then you won’t have to worry.

After that, do some research into the wine. The good thing is, you can research wine at leisure in your home. While you cannot actually taste it, you can check tasting notes.

Jellybean

You can also look into press reviews on some wines. Even other wine drinkers will post reviews. In a store, you need to rely on what little knowledge you have.

Even if you were to ask staff, the information provided may not be true or accurate. This information can vary widely. If you are lucky, you ask someone who may genuinely know.

I buy wine online and have been doing so for over a year. I go to WineOnline after I did my research. I can save you the trouble. At least you have a place now, but do check others too if you wish.

Miss Venus

When you order wine online, delivery is probably one of the most important considerations. Even in delivery, there are a few things to look at.